The blog returns… daguerreotypes

I’ve not blogged here in a while. Partly this is because I was going back (genealogically) in time before the age of photography, and this was easier for me to post. But as I began moving into where I possess increasing photographic memorabilia, I got frustrated. I am so terrible at both scanning things and photographing objects!

But I thought I’d return by posting about the box I have of daguerreotypes and ambrotypes passed down in my family. I have 4 daguerreotypes and will feature them this post. They all appear to be leather cases to me, not the “union” material.

I just discovered this great free book (272 pages!) to help you date old photos:
A guide to dating daguerreotypes, ambrotypesand & tintypes by their mats and cases, for historians, genealogists, collectors and antique dealers. See HERE.
Also this article was helpful: The Daguerreotype in America.

*This is a free wordpress blog, so you will see annoying ads. Sorry. When I get more content up over time, I may pay the fee to eliminate ads, but my readership is so small I see no point at this time.*

I have determined the first one below is the oldest daguerreotype. I am no expert but I found helpful dating resources. It is definitely a daguerreotype, and it lacks a “preserver” so it has to be from the 1840s. Preservers began to be added about 1847 and became the norm within 3-4 years. Daguerreotypes peaked between 1842 and 1858, thus I’d say we can safely date this between 1842 and 1850. This unknown woman is related to me somehow…distant cousin, aunt?

By the way, the daguerreotype was invented in 1839 so it is not possible to possess a photo much older than this one I possess! Note the box has 2 hooks. All the rest have one hook.

The next daguerreotype is of an unknown man. It has a preserver (use began 1847), and since daguerreotypes peaked between 1842 and 1858, we can date this between 1848 and 1858. Again, who knows how this man is related to me…distant cousin, uncle?

This next photo is in poor condition, as you can see. I am glad my photo of it turned out as well as it did. The leather cases all have floral designs, at least on the front, but the back of this one had a unique geometric design. Again, date should be between 1848 and 1858.

Finally, this last daguerreotype is a sad one of a dead child. Google it…postmortem photography was common, and it was likely the only photo a family possessed as a memory. I do not have both sides of the case. Also, I noted it is upside down in the case, as in the floral design on the leather is upside down. Not sure what to make of that? An error when it was originally placed? Was it moved to a different case and placed unintentionally upside down? It is a daguerreotype nonetheless, so again we should be able to safely date it as the 1850s. Note the color added to what appears to be flowers in the child’s hands. I googled this, and yes color could be added at the time.

Next time I will feature the ambrotypes.

Leave a comment